Patience

(n.) The quality of being patient, as the bearing of provocation, annoyance, misfortune, or pain, without complaint, loss of temper, irritation, or the like.

I personally struggle with this on a daily basis. Naturally, I’m a high maintenance person who doesn’t know how to sit down and relax. I’m always running around doing something, stressed out and wanting to rush everything I do. Also as a writer, my mind is constantly racing with thoughts, words and feelings.

It’s not until the night time when I sit down that I realize how much I want right now in the present:

  • Move to Boston to work for Her Campus
  • If not that, then New York to work for Cosmo
  • A wonderful boyfriend/husband who will love me no matter what
  • Living on my own
  • Travel the world

When I stop and think about it… why in the world am I wanting to do and have all of those things right now? I’m only 19 years old. I’m half way through college!IMG_3053

I’m wanting to accomplish all of those things right now because I’m excited for them. They’re my goals. I can’t wait to have all of that. Actually no, I can wait… I’m looking forward to it.

But what do I do to help with being so impatient?

First of all, I pray. I know God has a wonderful plan for me and I trust him. I pray to him asking for patience because that is what I need to work on.

Second of all, as my friends have told me over and over again, I need to focus on myself. I need to focus on organization, my job and my schoolwork. I’m in college to get a degree to get a successful job. Worrying about myself is all I should have time for right now.

And finally, I try and stay positive. Even when I’m insanely stressed, I always try to find a way to be happy. Whether it’s ordering a pizza, or dancing to Taylor Swift’s new album, or going shopping with girlfriends, being happy when you’re busy makes all the difference in the world.

So next time I’m being impatient about something, I need to remember that God has a beautiful and precious plan for me. I need to trust him and have faith in him.

-C

2 thoughts on “Patience

Leave a Reply

